I had all sorts of problems today because my mail server was suddenly blacklisted by
cbl.abuseat.org Why ?
To quote from the transcript of their sites analysis:
Well I have a lot of domains on that PC, and my network has several live sites going. I was in no mind to start messing with my hostname, so I added this line to my sendmail.mc file
define(`confDOMAIN_NAME',`mydomain.com') and regenerated sendmail.conf
m4 /etc/mail/sendmail.mc > /etc/mail/sendmail.conf
rebooted sendmail
/etc/rc.d/init.d/sendmail restart
And checked with cbl.abuseat.org . I seemed to be OK. So I applied to be delisted and I hope I will be. Who the frick are cbl.abuseat.org anyway?
cbl.abuseat.org Why ?
To quote from the transcript of their sites analysis:
There are two basic types of detections that land an IP in this page. RFC2821 section 4.1.1.1 says that there are only two legal types of HELO/EHLO a mail server can issue - either a fully qualified domain name (eg: "mail.example.com") or an "IP literal" (eg: "[1.2.3.4]").
The listings that land in this page are:
HELO "localhost", "localhost.localdomain", and other generic "unconfigured" names.
HELOs that are bare IP addresses (without enclosing square brackets).
Listings on the former are most common in UNIX-derived systems (such as Linux, xBSD
Well I have a lot of domains on that PC, and my network has several live sites going. I was in no mind to start messing with my hostname, so I added this line to my sendmail.mc file
define(`confDOMAIN_NAME',`mydomain.com') and regenerated sendmail.conf
m4 /etc/mail/sendmail.mc > /etc/mail/sendmail.conf
rebooted sendmail
/etc/rc.d/init.d/sendmail restart
And checked with cbl.abuseat.org . I seemed to be OK. So I applied to be delisted and I hope I will be. Who the frick are cbl.abuseat.org anyway?